KHM_Academy of Applied Arts Cologne

On October 15, 1990 with 25 students on the postgraduate “Audiovisual Media” diploma course; 1994 expansion of the course offering to include the undergraduate “Audiovisual Media” diploma course; since 2004 doctoral programme; 2010 renaming of the two diploma courses to “Media and Fine Art”

As „talent factory“, „an art college of new type“, as „electronic Bauhaus“, “bird of paradise”, „experiment without successful guarantee“ and also as „unbeloved child“ of the Cologne man-made cultural landscape began the art college in 1990. But first above all it was connected with closing the former Kölner Werkschule (Cologne Academy of Fine and Applied Arts, formely Cologne Arts and Craft Schools, 1926) and with it with the loss of the education in „free art“ and at the „end of the printed word.

The KHM began in 1990 with 25 students for the further qualifying certificate study „Audio-Visual Media“. In 1994 there was an enlargement of the study offer around the basic-constant certificate study „audio-visual media“; the first year had 40 students. Since 2004 there is the doctorate programme. In 2010 both certificate courses of studies were renamed as „Media Arts“. In 2017 the KHM opened a new course specialization in “Literary writing“.

Today the KHM is firmly and successfully part of Germany’s Art and Film Academies. It has remained true to their project-related statements (a general care by professors, no master classes, Diplomas in basic as well as in postgradual studies) which at the end it produces individualistic “cross over talents” between art, media, film and science.



Comments are closed.

KHM_Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln

Als „eine Talentschmiede“, „eine Kunsthochschule neuen Typs“, als „elektronisches Bauhaus“, „Paradiesvogel“, „Experiment ohne Erfolgsgarantie“ und auch als „ungeliebtes Kind“ der Kölner Kulturlandschaft startete die Kunsthochschule 1990. Sie wurde zunächst vor allem mit der Schließung der ehemaligen Kölner Werkschulen und damit mit dem Verlust der Ausbildung in „freier Kunst“ und mit dem „Ende des gedruckten Wortes“ verbunden.

Die KHM startete 1990 mit 25 Studierenden für das weiterqualifizierende Diplomstudiums „Audiovisuelle Medien“. 1994 gab es eine Erweiterung des Studienangebots um das grundständige Diplomstudium „Audiovisuelle Medien“; der erste Jahrgang hatte 40 Studierende. Seit 2004 gibt es das Promotionsprogramm. 2010 wurden die beiden Diplomstudiengänge in „Mediale Künste“ umbenannt. „Literarisches Schreiben“ kam 2017 als neuer Studienschwerpunktt hinzu.

Heute gehört die KHM fest und erfolgreich zum Kanon der deutschen Kunst- wie Filmhochschulen, wobei sie ihrem projektorientierten Ansatz (keine Meisterklassen, die Lehrgebiete übergreifende Betreuung durch Professoren, Diplomabschluss im grundständigen wie postgradualen Studium), der individualistische „Cross-over-Talente“ zwischen Kunst, Medien, Film und Wissenschaft hervorbringt, treu und darin einzigartig geblieben ist.



Kommentare sind geschlossen.