Kurt Laurenz Theinert and Lukas Pearse

Chocolate Museum Cologne | Visual Piano, Live Licht-Environments

29064611_2200723969945620_790385038380003814_o
19388693_2200724129945604_2423473235413069804_o
28827182_2200723996612284_7537260991197679862_o
Photos: Nana Tazuke

Visual Piano, Seit 2008 work in progress, room filling projection, 20-25Min.

short concerts ca. 20-25 minutes

each 19:30 h, 20:30, 21:30, 22:30, 23:30
at the Chocolate Museum Cologne
Am Schokoladenmuseum 1A
50678 Cologne

Visual Piano, a worldwide unique instrument that plays animated visual imagery, was conceived and developed by light artist and photographer Kurt Laurenz Theinert and the software developers Roland Blach and Phillip Rahlenbeck. A MIDI keyboard makes it possible to generate a wide variety of graphic patterns and project them into the room from a projector. Unlike conventional VJ software and hardware, the spontaneous, dynamic “light drawings” are not based on stored clips. Every moment of the performance is played and modulated live, in real time from the keyboard and pedals.

>> The Chocolate Museum

Kurt Laurenz Theinert

Kurt Laurenz Theinert is a photographer and performative light and media artist. In his work, he concentrates on visual experiences and strives for an abstract aesthetic. His artistic research into the de-materialization of images has led him to light, not only as the recording material of photography but also as a medium of display. During the first edition of //RESPONSIVE in October 2017 in Halifax, he collaborated for the first time with musician Lukas Pearse.

Kurt Laurenz Theinert: “Wherever I go, I try to find musicians I can play with. Sound and light have many characteristics in common and although we move in different spheres, we can communicate well. I draw a lot of inspiration from the qualities and behavior of sound and look for musicians who are interested in transmedial cooperation. The better they know their instrument and space, the more we can concentrate on our communication as an aesthetic process.” >>

EXHIBITIONS / PERFORMANCES [Selection]
2017 | Halifax [ca], //RESPONSIVE _ International Light Art Project
2017 | Miami [us], FROST MUSEUM OF SCIENCES
2017 | Corby [uk], DREAMING OUR WOODS
2016 | Stuttgart [de], AUFSTIEGE
2016 | Tunis [tn], INTERFERENCE
Since 1995 | Regular exhibition and performnace practice worldwide
MORE

EDUCATION
1985 – 1992 | Stuttgart [de], Studies of Design

BIOGRAPHY
1963 | Born in Stuttgart [de]
Lives and works in Stuttgart [de]
MORE

LINKS
theinert-lichtkunst.de
Vimeo

 

Lukas Pearse

Lukas Pearse is the Multi-faceted musician, composer, and media artist from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. He works with basses, sound, image and technology in many ways, using acoustic, electric and electronic instruments; mechanical, analogue and digital sound recordings, sound diffusion techniques for installation, modern dance and concert performance.

Lukas Pearse also explores live visuals and interactive projections using both analogue video and computer vision. As a performer in improvised music, new music, indie rock, jazz, folk and “world” music, he also works as a film sound designer, Foley artist and film composer.

Since 2015, Lukas Pearse has served as the Artistic Director of the Upstream Music Association, Halifax.

PERFORMANCES / CONCERTS [Selection]
2017 | Moncton [ca], Re:Flux Festival
2013 | Alberta [ca], Banff Centre For the Arts
2011 | Amsterdam [nl], Studio for Electro-Instrumental Music STEIM

EDUCATION
2002 – 2004 | London [en], Goldsmiths College University of London, Contemporary Music [MA]
1997 – 2002 | Halifax [ca], Dalhousie University, Contemporary Music [BA]
1989 – 1994 | Halifax [ca], NSCAD University, Fine Arts / Intermedia [BA]

BIOGRAPHY
1971 | Born in Halifax [ca]
Lives and works in Halifax [ca]

LINKS
lukaspearse.ca



Comments are closed.

Kurt Laurenz Theinert und Lukas Pearse

Schokoladenmuseum Köln | Visual Piano, Live Licht-Environments

29064611_2200723969945620_790385038380003814_o
19388693_2200724129945604_2423473235413069804_o
28827182_2200723996612284_7537260991197679862_o
Fotos: Kurt Laurenz Theinert

Visual Piano, Seit 2008/kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung
raumfüllende Projektion, 20-25Min

Kurzkonzerte ca. 20-25 Min.

jeweils 19:30 Uhr, 20:30, 21:30, 22:30, 23:30
im Schokoladenmuseum Köln
Am Schokoladenmuseum 1A
50678 Köln

Das »visual piano«, ein weltweit einzigartiges Instrument, mit dem sich bewegte (Raum-) Bilder dieser Art erzeugen lassen, wurde von dem Lichtkünstler und Fotografen Kurt Laurenz Theinert gemeinsam mit den Softwareentwicklern Roland Blach und Phillip Rahlenbeck konzipiert und entwickelt. Eine MIDI-Tastatur erlaubt es, verschiedenste grafische Muster zu generieren und per Beamer raumfüllend zu projizieren. Anders als bei der gängigen VJ-Soft- und Hardware basieren die spontanen, dynamischen »Lichtzeichnungen« hier nicht auf gespei­cherten Clips: Jeder Moment der Aufführung wird über Keyboard und Pe­dale live und in Echtzeit gespielt und moduliert.

>> Schokoladenmuseum

Kurt Laurenz Theinert

Kurt Laurenz Theinert ist Fotograf und performativer Licht- und Medienkünstler. Er konzentriert sich in seiner Arbeit auf visuelle Erlebnisse, die sich als Bilder nicht auf irgendetwas Anderes beziehen und strebt nach einer abstrakten Ästhetik. Seine künstlerische Forschung zur DEmaterialisierung der Bilder hat ihn von der Fotografie zu Licht, nicht nur als Material, sondern auch als Medium geführt. Während der ersten Edition von //RESPONSIVE im Oktober 2017 in Halifax, hat er erstmals mit dem Musiker Lukas Pearse zusammengearbeitet.

Kurt Laurenz Theinert: „Wo immer ich hingehe, versuche ich, Musiker_innen zu finden, mit denen ich spielen kann. Klang und Licht haben viele Eigenschaften gemeinsam und obwohl wir uns in verschiedenen Sphären bewegen, können wir uns gut verständigen. Ich schöpfe viel Inspiration aus den Qualitäten und dem Verhalten von Klang und suche Musiker_innen, die sich für die transmediale Zusammenarbeit interessieren. Je besser sie ihr Instrument und den Raum kennen, desto mehr können wir uns auf unsere Kommunikation als ästhetischen Prozess konzentrieren.“ >>

AUSSTELLUNGEN / PERFORMANCES [Auswahl]
2017 | Halifax [ca], //RESPONSIVE _ International Light Art Project
2017 | Miami [us], FROST MUSEUM OF SCIENCES
2017 | Corby [uk], DREAMING OUR WOODS
2016 | Stuttgart [de], AUFSTIEGE
2016 | Tunis [tn], INTERFERENCE
Seit 1995 | Regelmässige Ausstellungs- und Performance-Aktivität weltweit
MEHR

AUSBILDUNG
1985 – 1992 | Stuttgart [de], Studium des Designs

BIOGRAPHIE
1963 | Geboren in Stuttgart [de]
Lebt und arbeitet in Stuttgart [de]
MEHR

LINKS
theinert-lichtkunst.de
Vimeo

Lukas Pearse

Lukas Pearse, Musiker, Komponist und Medien-Künstler aus Halifax, Nova Scotia, Kanada arbeitet auf vielfältige Art und Weise mit Bässen, Klang, Bild und Technik. Dabei nutzt er akustische, elektrische und elektronische Instrumente, mechanische, analoge und digitale Klangaufnahmen sowie Techniken zur Klangdiffusion für Installationen, Modern Dance- und Konzert-Performances.

Lukas Pearse beschäftigt sich auch mit Live Visuals und interaktiven Projektionen. Als Performancekünstler in den Bereichen Improvisation und Neue Musik, Indie Rock, Jazz, Folk sowie Weltmusik arbeitet er auch als Entwickler für Filmmusik und Filmgeräusche.

Seit 2015 ist Lukas Pearse künstlerischer Leiter der Upstream Music Association, Halifax.

PERFORMANCES / PROJEKTE [Auswahl]
2017 | Moncton [ca], Re:Flux Festival
2013 | Alberta [ca], Banff Centre For the Arts
2011 | Amsterdam [nl], Studio for Electro-Instrumental Music STEIM

AUSBILDUNG
2002 – 2004 | London [en], Goldsmiths Universität, Contemporary Music [MA]
1997 – 2002 | Halifax [ca], Dalhousie Universitöt, BA Contemporary Music [BA]
1989 – 1994 | Halifax [ca], NSCAD University, Bildende Kunst / Intermedia [BA]

BIOGRAPHIE
1971 | Geboren in Halifax [ca]
Lebt und arbeitet in Halifax [ca]

LINKS
lukaspearse.ca



Kommentare sind geschlossen.